By using website you agree to our use of cookies as described in our cookie policy. Learn More

TDWI Best Practices Awards: Recognition for Innovative Data and Analytics Implementations

TDWI Announces 2011 Best Practices Awards Winners

TDWI's Best Practices Awards program is designed to identify and honor companies that have demonstrated excellence in developing, deploying and maintaining BI and DW applications. The best practice nominations were evaluated on business impact, maturity, innovation and relevance.   Companies and sponsoring solution providers from diverse industries submitted entries that were judged in a variety of categories.

The Best Practices Awards winners were honored at an awards ceremony, which took place at the TDWI World Conference, August 7 - 12, 2011 at the Manchester Grand Hyatt San Diego Hotel.

Click here to read summaries of the winning implementations!

The 2011 Best Practices Awards Winners include:

Category: Advanced Analytics

  • Con-Way Freight

Category: BI on a Limited Budget

  • Alcatel-Lucent

Category: Emerging Technologies and Methods

  • GUESS? Inc. (co-winner)
  • Nykredit (co-winner)

Category: Enterprise BI

  • Westfield Insurance

Category: Enterprise Data Management Strategies

  • Quicken Loans Inc. (co-winner)
  • Thrivent Financial for Lutherans (co-winner)

Category: Enterprise Data Warehousing

  • WellPoint, Inc.
    • Solution Sponsor: Cognizant Technology

Category: Government and Non-Profit

  • Internal Revenue Service

Category: Organizational Structures

  • National Instruments Corporation

Category: Performance Management

  • Cleveland Clinic
    • Solution Sponsor: STS Consulting Group

Category: Right-Time BI

  • Station Casinos, Inc.
    • Solution Sponsor: Informatica Corporation

Award winners were chosen by a panel of independent judges who have expertise in BI and DW. The panel of judges included:  Barb Wixom, Associate Professor, University of Virginia; Chris Adamson, DW Specialist, Oakton Software LLC; Colin White, President & Founder, BI Research; Daniel R. Evans, CBIP, Sr. Group Manager/Solution Lead, Avanade, Inc; David Stodder, Director of Research, TDWI; Evan Levy, Partner, Baseline Consulting; Hugh Watson, Professor of MIS, University of Georgia; Jill Dyché, CBIP, Partner, Baseline Consulting; John K. Thompson, CEO, Marketing Sciences, Inc.; Jonathan G. Geiger, CBIP, Executive Vice President, Intelligent Solutions, Inc.; Laura Reeves, Principal, StarSoft Solutions; Mark Madsen, President, Third Nature; Mark Peco, CBIP, Partner, InQvis; Nancy Williams, CBIP, Vice President, DecisionPath Consulting; Patty Haines, President, Chimney Rock Information Solutions; Philip Russom, Director of Research, TDWI; Ralph Hughes, Chief Systems Architect, Ceregenics, Inc.; Sid Adelman, Principal, Sid Adelman & Associates; Steve Dine, President, Datasource Consulting, LLC; and Steve Williams, President, DecisionPath Consulting.